San Francisco’s Civic Center neighborhood is centered between Franklin, Market, Leavenworth and Turk streets, with a large portion of the neighborhood’s businesses and government offices along Van Ness Avenue. Civic Center assets include City Hall, UN Plaza, and cultural institutions such as the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium and Orpheum Theater, among others.

Visitor Tips


Visitor FAQs

If you’re interested in getting married at City Hall, visit the Office of the County Clerk page of the City site for more information.

June 2024 calendar to come

May 2024 scheduled lighting events (subject to change)

Wednesday, May 1, 2024 – red/gold – in recognition of APA Heritage Month 

Thursday, May 2, 2024 – pink/red/blue – in recognition of Women’s Health Awareness Month 

Friday, May 3, 2024 – lime green – in recognition of Mental Health Awareness Month

Saturday, May 4, 2024 – red – in recognition of Murdered and Missing Indigenous Women Awareness Day (The official day of observance is May 5.)

Sunday, May 5, 2024 – lime green – in recognition of International Maternal Mental Health Day

Monday, May 6, 2024 – blue – in recognition of San Francisco’s Annual Small Business Week

Tuesday, May 7, 2024 – blue/orange – in recognition of National Nurses Month

Wednesday, May 8, 2024 – lime green – National Children’s Mental Health Awareness Day

Thursday, May 9, 2024 – blue/yellow – in recognition of the European Union’s “Europe Day”

Friday, May 10, 2024 – purple – in recognition of Cystic Fibrosis Awareness Month

Monday, May 13, 2024 – blue/white – in recognition of the National Day of Israel

Wednesday, May 15, 2024 – white – in recognition of the Ride of Silence – honoring the lives lost while biking in San Francisco 

Thursday, May 16, 2024 – blue – in recognition of National Peace Officers Memorial Day (The official date of the observance was May 15, 2024.)

Friday, May 17, 2024 – rainbow – in recognition of the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia

Saturday, May 18, 2024 – green – in recognition of Food Allergy Awareness Week

Sunday, May 19, 2024 – blue/white – in recognition of Public Works Week

Monday, May 20, 2024 – blue – in recognition of National Travel and Tourism Week

Tuesday, May 21, 2024 – lime green – in recognition of SFDPH’s Behavioral Sciences Client Council’s Mental Health Awareness event

Wednesday, May 22, 2024 – rainbow – in recognition of Harvey Milk Day

Thursday, May 23, 2024 – blue/white – in recognition of EMS Week

Sunday, May 26, 2024 – red/white – in recognition of the National Day of Georgia

Monday, May 27, 2024 – red/white/blue – in recognition of the Memorial Day Holiday

Tuesday, May 28, 2024 – green – in recognition of National Arthritis Awareness Month

You can find the latest information on City Hall’s color schedule on the City Hall Lighting Calendar via the SFGov site, scroll down to “Lighting schedule.”

There is an extensive array of cafes, coffee shops and restaurants from casual fare to fine dining, visit the shopping & dining portion of the Activities & Events page to find a specific place to grab a bite.

Anytime is a good time to visit! Museums, government buildings and cultural institutions are open year round. Outdoor events hosted by the Civic Center Community Benefit District and the Civic Center Initiative tend to occur in Summer, Fall and the holiday season; see our events calendar for more of what’s happening soon.

MUNI bus lines serving Civic Center include Bus Numbers: 5-Fulton, 21-Hayes, 31-Balboa, 47-Van Ness, and 49-Van Ness/Mission.

The MUNI Metro Subway includes all lines (J, K, L, M, N) serving both the Civic Center and Van Ness Stations. For up-to-date route and schedule information contact MUNI at (415) 701-2311 or dial 311 within San Francisco.

BART lines serve the nearby “Civic Center” station at Market and Eighth Streets. For schedule information please contact BART at (415) 989-2278.

North Bay: The Civic Center area is also served by Golden Gate Transit (415) 455-2000

South Bay: Sam Trans (800 660-4287) runs many buses from the South Bay. Cal Train riders may call 800-660-4287 for service information.

East Bay: From the East Bay riders can take AC Transit (dial 511 anywhere in the Bay Area) to the Transbay Terminal, on Mission Street between First and Fremont Streets, and transfer to MUNI lines such as the No. 5 Bus.

See more on our Directions, Parking & Transit page.


Civic Center Maps

Public Spaces Download PDF